About Erasmus+

Karazin University is an active participant in the EU Erasmus + program.

Erasmus + is a European Union program for the years 2014-2020 that supports projects of cooperation, partnerships, activities and mobility in the fields of education, vocational training, youth and sport. Together with more than 150 countries, Ukraine is one of the Erasmus + Partner countries.

Erasmus+ replaces seven programmes bringing together

  • the Lifelong Learning Programme (Erasmus, Leonardo da Vinci, Comenius, Jean Monnet and Grundtvig)
  • the Youth in Action programme
  • five international cooperation programmes (Erasmus Mundus, Tempus, Alfa, Edulink, the programme for cooperation with industrialised countries)
  • the new sport action.

Erasmus + provides grants for a wide range of actions and activities in the fields of education, training, youth and sport. The programme gives opportunities to students, trainees, staff and volunteers to spend a period abroad to increase their skills and employability. It supports organisations to work in transnational partnership and to share innovative practices in the fields of education, training and youth. The new sport action will support grassroots projects and cross-border challenges such as combating match-fixing, doping, violence and racism.

The actions of the Erasmus + programme are divided into decentralised actions and centralised actions. The decentralised actions are managed in each programme country by National Agencies that are appointed by their national authorities. The centralised actions are managed at a European level by the Education, Audiovisual and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA) located in Brussels.

The seven year programme will have a budget of €14.7 billion; a 40% increase compared to current spending levels, reflecting the EU's commitment to investing in these areas.

In order to increase awareness, visual accessibility, relevance, effectiveness and impact of the international components of Erasmus + in the field of higher education, the National Erasmus + Office in Ukraine operates.

Each year, from October to February / March, Erasmus + competitions continue. Full details on all features are available on the Erasmus + website